1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Help! Sense key=MEDIUM ERROR

Discussion in 'Video problems with Mac' started by hapdog, Dec 2, 2005.

  1. thelox714

    thelox714 Regular member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2005
    Messages:
    1,759
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    what program are you using to burn?
    what dvd burner is this?
    what movie?

    need all the info you can provide.
     
  2. TK1209

    TK1209 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2006
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    I am using a Mac G3 330 with OS X 10.3.9

    I have ripped a few DVDs and have just tried copying them onto DVD+R DL for the first time, and I am having extreme headaches with it. Seems no matter what I do, I get the error:

    Sense Key: Medium Error
    Sense Code: 0x73, 0x02

    I have updated the software (Toast 6.1.1) and firmware with no luck. The DVDs were ripped with MTR, I am trying to burn them onto FujiFilm DVD+R DL

    I am trying to put a copy of a Simpsons DVD & Spongebob DVD as backups for the originals.

    Please help!!
     
  3. TK1209

    TK1209 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2006
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    I am using a Lacie d2 DVD +RW/-RW DL external burner.
     
  4. thelox714

    thelox714 Regular member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2005
    Messages:
    1,759
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    use only Verbatim DL.. they are the only certified.. dont know by who.. but try the verbatims..
    check out best buy.. they often have the 10 pack for $20..
     
  5. TK1209

    TK1209 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2006
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    I don't think they carry the 8.5GB discs in Canada. I only have seen Memorex & Fuji at Future Shop & Best Buy
     
  6. TK1209

    TK1209 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2006
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    I mean I haven't seen the Verbatim DL (only the 4.7GB Verbatim)
     
  7. Cronic03

    Cronic03 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2005
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    OK, im runnin a iBook G4 from Apple. I have 10.3.7 on it and I have over 50 PS2 games in my collection. I have succesfully patched 6 games incl. Fight Night Round 3. Now I use Toast 7 to burn my games aswell and have ran into that error too. Open Toast 7, up at the top click on Recorder, then click on Recorder Settings. When it opens click the Advanced tab and select "Buffer Underrun Prevention". That should fix the problem. The Buffer settings on your computer was not set large enough. You should also set your iTunes buffer to "Large". Hope that works.
     
  8. TK1209

    TK1209 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2006
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Buffer underrun is checked. I got the local THE SOURCE to bring in Verbatim DL+R DVDs
    haven't picked them up yet... but everyone is sure they will work to backup my DVD
    movies? Would hate to spend another $20 on frisbees.
     
    Last edited: Mar 20, 2006
  9. genkilife

    genkilife Member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2006
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    I am racking my brain.

    I am getting:
    Sense Key=Medium Error
    Sense code=0x72, 0x02 errors when wrting the lead out.
    (I also got a buffer underwrite error in one of the many attempts I have made.)

    Just bought this LaCie dvd+rw double layer drive and am connecting with a firewire.

    I tried to back up data files and an a few AVI files. The total back up was about 5.2G.

    I have a iBook G4 running 10.3.9. I tried using both my Toast 6 and the Toast 5.1 Lite that came in the package.

    I did burn one data CD on this burner just to check and it worked. The DVDs, I have used two different brands, both gave me this error.

    Any ideas/helpful comments would be much appreciated.
     
  10. thelox714

    thelox714 Regular member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2005
    Messages:
    1,759
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    depending on what brand you are using.. i use nothing but verbatims or taiyo yudens..

    that may be part of ur issue
     
  11. genkilife

    genkilife Member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2006
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    thanks for you comment.
    I was able to burn 2 normal (that is a single layer) DVDs. It was the same brand as the DVD-DL that I tried to burn: sony

    I have heard about updating hte firmware but I am not sure. this is a plug and play peripheral. Also on the LaCie website there was no such download/update.

    I checked but I did not see any Verbatim discs at the largest supplier in my town. (I am not in the US.)
    do you think it is just a medium issue?
    thanks
    genki
     
  12. thelox714

    thelox714 Regular member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2005
    Messages:
    1,759
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46

Share This Page