1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Just a quick question...

Discussion in 'DVDR' started by Exinferis, Sep 12, 2004.

1. Exinferis

Exinferis Member

...I hope!

I've been burning VCD's for quite a while and thought I'd move up into the world of DVD's Go me! Anyway, I've got a few episodes of a TV show which I'd like to put on a DVD-R. Now, each episode is about 350mb Avi's and they're very good quality.

Now, I'd like to get as many episodes as possible on one DVD-R. I've heard tell that this particular series (20 episodes of about 45 mintes each) will fit on two DVD-R's. Don't know if this is possible, but would be nice!

The problem is that, when I try and convert with TMPGEnc to fit four episodes on one disc the quality is terrible.

Now, as I say, I'm new to DVD encoding, but I can usualy get upwards of 2 hours worth of film on a VCD and still have fairly good picture and sound!

Obviously I'm doing something badly wrong! Can anyone help me out with this as I'm going spare!

Danke shun!

Ex

2. Doc409

Doc409 Active member

I'm just getting into this part of things, so I can't be of much technical help. However, I've been following related threads on this topic in the Digital Video section AD. There is a category called "Video Capturing from Analog Sources" with a number of discussions about getting avi and mpeg on DVD.

3. ScubaPete

ScubaPete Senior member

Hi Exinferis, Welcome to aD -

By stopping after using TMPGEnc you're only 1/2 there.

Continue by using TMPGEnc DVD Author to get your VOB's then burn to disc OR use Nero's NeroVision Express and then burn. Either of these should get you to the right place.

If I were doing episodel proggys, after I finished with TMPGEnc DVD Author I'd use DVD2One in the "Join" mode and in the "Non-seamless" setting then burn to disc.