1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Quality of a burned DVD?

Discussion in 'DVDR' started by rnaval, Dec 26, 2004.

1. rnaval

rnaval Member

Is a backup copy of a dvd always lower in quality than the original dvd?

I'm new to this and I just made a copy of "Finding Nemo" using dvd shrink and dvd decrypter. I was really disappointed with the quality of the video.

Is there any way to burn the dvd and maintain the video quality of the original dvd on the backup?

Thanks...RN

2. ScubaPete

ScubaPete Senior member

Hi there RN, welcome to aD,

To keep the exact same quality, either split the original between 2 discs OR buy a DL burner and use DL media -

However, you failed to tell us what you were using and how you were using it. I did Nemo and you cannot tell the difference between mine and the original.

Tell us what you're doing now and what you didn't like about the backup and we'll tell you how to make it right -

Take you time and explain EVERYTHING you're using and how you're using it -

Pete

3. rnaval

rnaval Member

Thanks for your reply...I'm using a Dual Layer burner - the Sony DRU-710A with a TEON DVD+R 8X Blank Discs that I picked up yesterday at Staples.

Based on one of your posts, I downloaded DVD Shrink and DVD Decrypter and set the config exactly as you specified in your post. I ran DVD Shrink to analyse and backup to the hard drive - that took 2.5 hours. It then launched DVD Decrypter and burned the DVD in about 10 minutes.

Please let me know what process I need to change to get the exact same quality as the original. I assume that it;s the setting that does the deep analysis, am I correct? Also, based on other posts, it seems I can't keep it all on one disc as the original, what is the reason for this? Also, is there a faster way to burn? Sorry, I'm new at this and don't have even the basic knowledge of this process.

Thanks...RN

4. ScubaPete

ScubaPete Senior member