1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Ripping Blu Ray for streaming

Discussion in 'Blu-ray players' started by cshaip, Jul 24, 2008.

1. cshaip

cshaip Member

I'm new to Blu Ray (have a new Blu Ray drive that is to be delivered today) and want to rip Blu Ray disks to my HDD and convert for streaming to either my Xbox 360 or PS3. I've been able to do this fine for standard DVDs but was wondering which programs will allow me to do the following:

1) Rip Blu Ray to HDD (I'm assuming AnyDvd HD will do this)

2) Extract just the movie while filtering out undesired streams like subtitles and other languages (like Shrink or Decrypter does for standard DVD's)

3) Convert to a file for streaming to Xbox 360 or PS3

I'm not interested in burning to a disk or compressing to save HDD space (I have a 1TB external drive).

Any help would be much appreciated.

2. frank67ny

frank67ny Member

hey cshaip, I was wondering if you ever get the solution to do this. I am trying to do the same. Can you help? thanks

3. odin24

odin24 Regular member

AnyDVDHD will rip the BD to your PC's HDD. However there are some roadblocks from there in regards to streaming.

1. All BD media files are in the m2ts container, which are compatible with the PS3, only if the BD is encoded with the h264 codec. If it is VC1 you're outta luck, you have to keep it in the BD format to play VC1, which is not streamable.

2. The PS3 only takes external drives that are formatted to FAT32 only, which means files at or under 4GB, BD movies files are 20GB+.