1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

ISO or VOB files

Discussion in 'DVDR' started by elias_7, Sep 6, 2004.

1. elias_7

elias_7 Member

Is it better to copy the DVD's to your HDD using ISO or VOB? does one have it over the other?

2. Nephilim

Nephilim Moderator Staff Member

There's no difference in the end result. It's just two different ways to get to the same place :)

3. zippyd

zippyd Active member

As Nephilim said....no advantages. Just be sure to know which one (if not both) that your burning software supports.

[​IMG]

4. elias_7

elias_7 Member

yeh ive tried copying both n yeh it pretty much the same quality wise.. i was juz seeing if there was a difference!
    thanx pplz!

5. jadsru1

jadsru1 Member

HI
    I am somewhat new to this ripping/copying/backing up/encoding stuff. I have been having a problem for a while and I think I am getting an idea how to resolve it.
    I have noticed for while not that not all my dvd backups played on my Dell laptop supplied LG DVD rom-- I use Power DVD 5--
    I thought it was a media issue, so I got other/better media to use...went from dunex, memorex to sony. I kept on getting the same problem, until I noticed that the only backups that play are the ones made with dvdxcopy platinum or dvdxrescue as opposed to the backups made with shrink 3.2, alcohol 120%, decrypter. (BTW, regardless of the media or software I used, they all played on my home dvd player) so I dismissed the bad media theory and started thinking at other things. What I gathered from all this is that dvdxcopy and rescue all produced and burnt from vob files, whereas the other programs copied from image files(iso, etc.)
    Now my question is: how, if possible, do you get vob files from shrink, decrypter, alcohol or any other software because I don't like using dvdxcopy.

Thanks in advance to any suggestions.

6. elias_7

elias_7 Member

hey jadsru1,